2ladd

How to forget a Wi-Fi network on Mac

You can delete or forget the Wi-Fi networks saved on your Mac as you like.

Posted

in

A functional feature of your Mac allows you to remember Wi-Fi networks you’ve previously connected to and join them when you’re in range. But there are a few situations where this can be problematic. You may want to configure your Mac to connect only to one of your home and work networks. You can get rid of the networks you don’t want to use, so you don’t have to remember which one you’re connected to every time you turn on your Mac.

Perhaps the password for a network has changed since you last logged in, but for some reason you’re not being prompted to enter the new password. To overcome this issue, you can “forget” the network.

Or perhaps you want to organize the networks you’ve saved over time. Whatever the reason, it’s very simple for a Mac to forget a Wi-Fi network. But how do you do it? Continue reading to find it out.

How to forget a Wi-Fi network on your Mac computer

How to forget a Wi-Fi network on Mac
  1. To begin, go to your Mac’s menu bar and click on the Wi-Fi icon.
How to forget a Wi-Fi network on Mac
  1. Next, select “Network Preferences…” from the drop-down menu.
  1. Click Advanced…
  1. Click on the Wi-Fi network that you want to forget after locating it. Hold down the “Command” key while clicking on other networks if you want to pick numerous networks.
  1. Next, click on the minus () button.
  2. Click “OK” and “Apply.”

This is how do you forget a Wi-Fi network on Mac PCs.